Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Power ups - Design theory?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello,

I am making a "3d Side scroller shooter" game, basically the player moves from left to right (Like the old mario games).

I've got a small level and collisions (using Sparky's DLL), a working jet pack that runs out of fuel and recharges, health (basically just a number right now) and a gun with ammo (basically, everything works on that except the hard part: actually shooting bullets). I haven't done much for graphics yet, I figure that's best to be done last.

So next thing I want to work on is powerups... I've never seen how someone else has done them and I'm new to programming so I was wondering how I should go about doing them... Should I use a function to create them? If I could somehow make a function like this:

Then have the function actually do the collision detection and handle any animations I would want to put on it... I'd rather not have to code the entire powerup every time I place one on the map.

Any ideas? Thanks!

ßõw§€r¥¤

Attachments

Login to view attachments
zeroSlave
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jul 2009 18:25 Edited at: 30th Jul 2009 18:26
First, I would make a TYPE that would handle the X, Y, Z, Type of Powerup, Id, Animation_Frame, (and whatever else would be needed)

And, I would have a few functions made:
One for spawning it
that would give it an ID and make/show the object that will be used;

One for handling the animation and physics that would be called every loop

One for picking it up when a collision from the player occurs

I would make a function for each type of power up that could be called when it is picked up by the player