Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Controlling bullets, arrays?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2009 06:03 Edited at: 12th Sep 2009 06:07
Hello all. I'm having trouble with shooting bullets right now, here is my problem:

When my player shoots a bullet, all goes well, it moves they way I want and stops when it hits a object. Btw, I use the "exclude object on" command when it hits an object, is that a good Idea?

My code is (in theory) is this:

Now my problem is, if I shoot more than one bullet it doesn't move the last one it created... I'm new to arrays and I don't understand how I would do this. Should I use arrays or is there a better way?

I'm not sure if the "for b = 1 to max_bullets" is the best way as I may have created other objects as well... I'm lost.

Thanks a lot!

ßõw§€r¥¤
z_man
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2009 07:44
Generally, you should avoid using actual objects with very fast moving projectiles (like bullets). Try using ray casting instead.

I just wrote something on a very similar note about 10 minutes ago:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=157650&b=7&msg=1852261#m1852261

If you really want to use objects though, just say so and I'll try to help you out.

Z

Sven B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Sep 2009 14:09
z_man is right. For fast projectiles where you're not supposed to "see" the projectile, you should use ray casting.