Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I'm a newbie looking for some advice...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi there. This is lachjames with his FIRST POST EVER! Aren't you exited? I just don't know how you guys at the forum coped without me for as long as you have. Anyway, I am considering creating a Star Wars RPG based on KOTOR and KOTOR 2 as my first project. The game mechanics are based on a D20 system (which shouldn't be too hard to replicate, just make some basic integers for the weapon statistics, throw in some random numbers and there you have it).

Anyway, I'd like some advice. I would like to first get some basic knowledge of this language (you didn't really think that this RPG would be my first GAME ever, did you? Just my first project). I know some Visual Basic.Net, so looking at this code isn't as daunting as one of my friends had suggested (of course, he uses *Game Maker* coz he'd rather focus on the sprites than the actual coding, unlike me). Once I have a basic knowledge of the file system, I would like to get to work.

First of all, I would like you to know that I have the Dark Game Studio Bonanza special on the way right now. I also have the capability to buy any extra plug-ins or programs that I need (within reason).