Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Bullets, 2D Engine-open source project

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Aug 2003 03:20
I'm writting a tutorial about 2D gameing as well as making an open-source Space Shooting Game. However i'm having a lot of trouble with bullets. I have made 20 sprites to use as bullets but i know im not doing it right. How do i make my spaceship fire a stream of bullets? I'm just making the engine just now but when this part is finished then my whole engine is finished and i can start to work on actually making the game. I'm a newbie myself, 3 weeks in, but i'm getting the hang of this really fast. This problems been plaguing me for days now and i know when to ask for help. I'll post my code if anyone needs to see it but it's really untidy at the o due to testing so i'll repost it later if i can. So dont me mean, share your code, cos i'll share all of mine. I promise! -DivW

Your soul...it tastes like chicken
Mentor
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Aug 2003 19:45 Edited at: 28th Aug 2003 19:49
make some arrays from 1 to 20 do....

dim xpos(20):dim ypos(20): dim bullet(20)

right at the start of the code, then do.......

if spacekey()
for i=1 to 20
if bullet(i)=0
bullet(i)=100
xpos(i)=fireposx
ypos(i)=fireposy
endif
next i
endif

inside the gameloop, then at the bottom of the game loop do........

for i=1 to 20
if bullet(i)>0
dec ypos(i) : rem bullet y position (in an array since you need to update 20 seperate bullets)
endif
sprite i,xpos(i),ypos(i),bullet_piccy
next i