Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / New to the language: Few quick questions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2009 08:59 Edited at: 3rd Nov 2009 11:54
Greetings,

I will try to keep this as quick as possible. I am new to this language. I am switching over from blitz3d. It was easy, but it really had many limitations. It seems like DBPro can do quite a bit more. It's going to take some time for me to get a handle on this new language, syntax, etc. But, hopefully you can help me out with these quick questions.

1.) Object ID's
I noticed that DB does not handle these dynamically? This is not a real problem if I can code past it. Pretend I am making a particle system. Each particle has a sprite attached to it using classes and linked lists. For each "particle" I create, will it have to be assigned a unique id, or will an instanced copy work fine? If this is the case then...I guess I will have to code around the issue. I might try using a system of pointers? Who, knows.

2.) Overloading functions
Is this possible in the native language? If so what is the syntax?

this leads me to my 3rd question

3.) Lets pretend that in a month or two I get relativly comfortable with the language. And I decide I want to create a plugin/library/command set. Would I be doing this via PURE or will I need to compile my own DLL's? I am sure there is documentation on this; I am just looking for a quick answer.

That's it. Upon first look those are the only questions I have right off the start. I bet I'll be lurking in this board for a while until I get the hang of it.