Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Hello, I'm new! Camera Question =]

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey everyone, I'm new! And since TGC released a free version of DBP I decided to go ahead and get it... what could I lose?

Well, so I've been messing around with it and I've managed to come up with something very small. I have no programming experience what-so-ever... I'm trying to move away from the almighty RPG Maker 'cause I've been using that since I was a kid! And now I think it's about that time... So here I am!

I've been meaning to start digging into some tutorials especially with that thread with all the links...

but anyways...

I have a question. Okay so, I have a basic movement set up and a camera positioned to look down at the cube at a 45 degree angle...

I'm curious, how can I make the camera follow the cube? I don't want the camera to move forwards or backwards with it, just rotate to the left and the right as the cube gets closer to the edge of the screen and tilt it up when the cube gets far out, and tilts down as the cube gets closer...

Know what I'm saying?

Also, how can you have two cameras? For example, if the player was to go so far out, your view would have to change to another camera so that the player could be seen again... Like in Final Fantasy or Resident Evil.

I hope I'm not asking a lot, I'm just really curious and kind of excited that I actually managed to get this far with DarkBasic!

And if you're gonna' be an awesome person and tell me how to do it, it would be great if you could go into detail and explain why it does what it does... 'Cause I'm new!

Here's my code...

If there is a better way or an easier way to accomplish this then please tell me...