Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Object cannot animate...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok, I'm new to this and I know it's probably something that's really simple and has been answered before and I'm sorry, but that's what you're hear for I guess.

Anyway. I copied the code from http://developer.thegamecreators.com/?f=t01/3d_tutorial_12 and I just replaced where it loaded "idle.x" with my own .x format model.

Now when I run the program, it says "Runtime error line 29. Object cannot animate."

What's wrong with me/it?

Thanks.

PS- I searched, but all the things that came up I got the old "404 File Not Found" error.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Sep 2003 01:39
does your object have animation data?
if so check the code to frame references that may be illegal for your object.
If not check the code and rem out lines that have Play Object commands (referencing your object number that is)

-RUST-
CMBY
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks for the quick reply, but...

Sorry for sounding like an idiot, but I need a really really dumbed down version of what you said, because I downloaded the trial version like yesterday and just jumped through tutorials because I understand most of them already.

How would I know if it had animation data?
CMBY
Years of Service
User Offline
Oh, also this is the only part of the code I changed so if there's a problem it's probably here...

Am I loading the object from the wrong place? I assumed it would be the same as loading the texture files so that may be my problem.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Sep 2003 02:38 Edited at: 3rd Sep 2003 02:40