Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / dbCLS not working

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello--I'm new to using the Dark GDK (and C++ in general). I've had some experience programming simple games in Java, so I'm currently trying to reproduce those games with the Dark GDK. At the moment, however, I cannot even get a rectangle to move across the screen. Here is my code:

The call to dbCLS() does nothing, with the result that my box just expands to the right. After swapping some of the code around, I discovered that dbCLS seems to clear the background while dbBox draws to the foreground.

I then tried to simulate dbCLS with a call to dbBox(0,0,PWIDTH,PHEIGHT), but the background box drew once and then never again, while the other box continued to ooze across the screen. After fiddling with the numbers, I found that the background box would only draw and refresh properly if its dimensions were at least one pixel less than the window size.

The problem persists even if I take out the code to change the window size and resolution.

Could someone please point out the very basic thing I must be missing?
demons breath
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Dec 2009 02:04
Quote: "After fiddling with the numbers, I found that the background box would only draw and refresh properly if its dimensions were at least one pixel less than the window size."