Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Question about using shaders

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Dec 2009 07:22
Hey, I'm sorry for this noob question, but I'm very new to DBP. I was playing around with some shaders and can't seem to figure out how to get them to work. None of them seem to come with any kind of documentation. Is there some common method of implementing all shaders? I've just been loading them, setting object effect, and setting detail mapping on.

Also, I downloaded the relief mapping shader from Nvidia. The texture it comes with has a bumpmap that comes with it that is shaded pink for some reason. I tried using my own texture with my own black and white bumpmap (like most bumpmaps I've dealt with tend to be), but it doesn't work. I can only use the one with the pinkish texture, and there is no documentation anywhere explaining how to make a bumpmap like that for my other textures.

When I load it, I have to set detail mapping to the second pinkish texture, and then it works, but only on the top side of the cube I was testing it on. If you aren't looking at it from the top, you can barely see anything on the cube. Changing the position of the lights doesn't help. What am I doing wrong, and once I figure this out, will I be able to use any shader, or are they all different?

Sanba Games: Because We Can
SanBa Games
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Dec 2009 08:15
Hmm, sorry if there's a way to edit posts, I hate to double post, but I couldn't see if there was a way to do it.