Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Input and Variables

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Whats wrong with this code? Im a newb. I just started a little programming. and i wanted to make a very simple program. But, I cant seem to figure out all the things Im doing wrong... Will some one please give me some pointers on what im doing wrong, and give me a fixxed version of the script? (I think you may beable to tell what im trying to do if you read the code)

Thanks!
Mentor
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Sep 2003 00:37
take the $ off the years and change the message to "how many years old are you?", then change the output message to "your are about ";milliseconds;" millisecs old", you have tried to store a number in a string, adding $ to the end of a variable makes the number a string, strings are used to hold strings of characters like (for example) years$="the warm summer of sixteen oh two", you can`t do math with strings, on the other hand year=18 works fine, you would need to refine the code to calculate the fraction of the year to get a more exact answer for you example, at the moment to be accurate the user would have to type something like 18.954 in years as his age to get the exact result, cheers.

Mentor.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Sep 2003 00:38
you dont need the WAIT statement as INPUT waits for INPUT....

you need semi-colons in your PRINT statements.....to concatenate
something like
Print "you are "; str$(days); " days old"

Your entire math is off, and the variables your using won't hold what you're asking, especially milliseconds

WAIT at end of program should be WAIT KEY so you can see results, then press any KEY to exit app