Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Simple Pong Example code issues

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey everyone,

I'm completely new to DarkBasic Pro. I'm following a book that has example games to create as it teaches you. I'm on the first one, called "Simple Pong" and things keep going wrong.

First, after copying the code correctly (i quadruple checked, so I know it's right) I tried to run the game and all it did was crash. I searched around and found that someone mentioned I should upgrade to the latest version of DarkBasic pro. I downloaded the latest version and installed it, and now whenever I run the program, it no longer crashes but I have a new issue.

Everytime I run the game, the ball in the center only moves up and down, which of course is useless. It doesn't crash and the paddles move but the ball never strays from the enter of the screen. Can someone help me? Here is the code:

Virtual Nomad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Dec 2009 06:43 Edited at: 28th Dec 2009 06:48
unfortunately, that particular tutorial is askew. the error lies in the way it's checking for "collision" which is to see what color the pixel is below the "ball". here:

the way dbpro is working now (and this is probably a bug), point is always > 0, causing the ball to "bounce" every time it moves.

for further info, see this recent thread which deals with your situation.

and, where is this tutorial being published? which "book" are you guys finding this in?

Virtual Nomad @ California, USA
AMD Phenomâ„¢ X4 9750 Quad-Core @ 2.4 GHz . 8 GB PC2-6400 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 3650 @ 512 MB . Vista Home Premium 64 Bit
punkrockserfer
Years of Service
User Offline