Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Games to teach myself

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 17:25 Edited at: 14th Jan 2010 17:27
Anyone have any advice on some easier games to write, to teach myself things such as object collision, switching levels, keeping score, and basic game concepts like these? I dont want free code, or anyone to do anything for me. I want to learn it on my own, but I cannot think of a game to create that would help me. I learned the hard way that trying to make a top shelf game like GTA or Final Fantasy, or anything like this, was out of my grasp as I am new to game development. Also, could anyone toss me any advice on game layout. (example: Avoiding spagetti code ~GOTO mess~, loading new levels, and removing old levels.) Any ADVICE would be of tremendous help. Thanks in advance.

Nick ~Sickly~ Britton

P.S. I am trying to make a version of frogger for adults (a bit more graphic) using sprites and particles, in hopes of learning most of the concepts listed above.

The darkest minds, are often the brightest.
HowDo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jan 2010 21:37
Well you know what your end project is that's good, not many do. Take your end project and break it down into To Do List.

1. can you make the sprite or 3D object move across the screen in either direction.
2. can you make the high score and place where you want, with the font you want.
3. can you make some control system that moves the sprite or object up or down the screen under your control.
3. can you position the camera so it at the angle or distance you want.