Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 3rd person camera HELP!!!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
ok im having trouble limiting the camera angle (see code provided)
ive tried numerous tests but they all produced a choppy result (not actually disallowing camera movement, just repositioning it).
so read the comment in the code and i u think u can help please do

thanks,
ssj3_shadow

w00t -what does it mean?
ssj3_shadow
Years of Service
User Offline
come people i gave u the code any cind of help will be appreciated

w00t -what does it mean?
Archaikz
Years of Service
User Offline
Well im still new to but just a question but why are you setting the camera to follow object 1's positions then pointing the camera to object 1's positions..your basically doing the same thing twice. about the limiting could you just use a if statement saying
if angle = 320 then angle = 320 or something. Im still new so you may want more experienced people to help.
Symon
Years of Service
User Offline
angle keeps changing

if angle=>270 and angle=<359 then angle=270
then move the object by angle
this might confuse u more
ssj3_shadow
Years of Service
User Offline
Quote: "setting the camera to follow object 1's positions then pointing the camera to object 1's positions..your basically doing the same thing twice"

not really Archaikz true i have the camera following the object but if u dont point the camera at the object it could be pointing at anything in the 3d space, pointing the camera at the object allows the user to see what the camera is following...

???Symon - what i really need is a sample of some mouse look code so i can see how the camera angle is limited, and apply the same test to my code..in theory this should work.