Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / gosubs becoming confusing, mixed up code debugging, i need fresh eyes

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i have been slowly learning darkbasic by myself and its hard. i have been working on a game (right now called generic platformer V0.1) simple sprites, levels, audio, ai and a goal. the code wasn't really jumbled until i started using gosub to make it smaller. now it wont run, im no pro and i need help.(btw i was on here a few weeks ago and a dude really helped me out, im looking out for u, took ur advice, sorta...)

__init__.dba

varsheet.dba

loadsheet.dba

level1.dba

ai.dba

console.dba
* not doing any thing yet, so far i can open and close console with game still open,

debug.dba
* dont really use it anymore... for level and hero placemnet

main game loop
* works...

cant figure out how to accelerate, acceleration due to gravity or to smoothe out the movements.

i want to find out how to make a ghosting effect too.

most of the code is good it is the __init__.dba thats not fleshed out...

note this is for debugging.
i am open to tips and such, the more the merryier

guess what

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jan 2010 03:27
Hi, I'm not a pro at programming either but I do remember hearing somewhere that functions are better to use than subroutines and that using subroutines can result in spaghetti code. It will be a lot of work but you could try reprogramming your program using functions.

As for making a ghost effect you could play around with the 'Set Sprite Alpha' command.

Hope this helps

A clever person solves a problem, a wise person avoids it - Albert Einstein
Neuro Fuzzy
Years of Service