Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Creating a boardgame

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am new to DBPro and want to create a boardgame based on an old boardgame that I have. Where to start?

I read the screen scroll tutorial and went through it. I guess it was done right, though the results weren't what I expected.

Any help is appreciated as in making pieces, dealing with card decks, position on board, etc...

Just point me to examples.

Thanks.
Teh Stone
Years of Service
User Offline
First off what sort of game are u making and second and second is it 2d or 3d?
tiggerkat
Years of Service
User Offline
It is 2d.

The game is Summit, and this link best explains it:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/1727/summit

Hopefully will be able to include both play against computer and hotseat/LAN play.
tiggerkat
Years of Service
User Offline
Ok...to clarify.

The game is played on a map of the world similar to Risk.

Players have pieces they can place on the board such as mills, factories and military bases.

So let's start with that..how should I do the map and how can I get it so players can place their pieces in the proper places?
TDK
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Feb 2010 15:40
How much programming experience do you have? You say you are new to DBPro, but have you programmed with anything else?

You only joined yesterday, so as you are new to DB/3D programming, we are not going to be able to answer your question as it would actually be tantamount to teaching you how to program.

That's something you are going to have to learn yourself.

It's like joining a mechanics forum and in your first post, asking how to change an engine!