Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am A newbie to dark basic. I have read through the manual and dont know where to start. I dont understand a thing. Im only 13 and I ve heard 14 yrs old do it. How? Any help plz? I feel stupid.
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Sep 2003 00:04
You shouldn't feel stupid! DB is a programming language, like any, it takes practice and hard work. Start slow and easy with simple text and input commands and work up from there. I know the help files stink but if you are patient and thorough you will understand it. Look thru the examples and especially read all of the intro stuff regarding variables/commands and how they work. Try and make a "Hello World!" program. All I can say is try to do stuff and post here when you're stuck and I am sure this community will be eager to help

-RUST-
ReD_eYe
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Sep 2003 12:16
i downloaded the db demo when i was 13 and didn't understand a word of it, so i gave up went back a year later and it all became clear after a couple of weeks looking at it again, if you find yourself not understanding something, take a break, sleep on it and you might find it easier in the morning, or maybe not i'm 14 now btw

Ads
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks everyone for the help. Last Night I made a mini program called Adams Adding machine. At the moment im still working on multiple types of calcualtions. Who knows where I get info on variables and db maths etc?
Ads
Years of Service
User Offline
I have made a basic calculator finally. Any suggestions of what I should make next?
Mentor
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Sep 2003 19:28