Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Help for website making

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2003 00:17
I am making a website. I have never done it before and want to know if there are issues (like copyright, trademark) and what to do about it.

For example, what if I want to write a review about a piece of computer software, or a film (movie)? Do I need to contact the creators? Or write legal information in my website footer? Do I need little TM signs?

Schnell, schnell, Kartoffelkopf!
EgoAnt
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2003 01:44
My experience with the web is act first, think later...

But if you are doing an opinion piece there really aren't any limitations except for the use of media, if you totally slag off something and use their media the copyright holders might get upset, but nine times out of ten if you aren't directly plagiarizing people or redistrubiting copyrighted materials you are perfectly okay.

In all honesty if you break a rule, generally someone will send you a "cease and desist" e-mail. That's why I say it is an act first, think later environment. You can pretty much publish anything you want, as long as you are willing to later un-publish it if someone objects strongly enough.