Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help, Trying to make a driving simulator.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Apr 2010 19:09
I need some help guys;

I’m new to D-B pro, and I’ve only got basic coding experience, changed values, made primitives and altered the mesh, and applied and played with textures etc. Needless to say I don’t know a lot and would like some advice. While I have the ideas, I don’t know how to apply them, so I hope there is someone who would be willing to help me.

This is my objective;

I’m looking to make a driving simulator.

So far, I need to make a map, I’m thinking of making one based on a height-map of the UK, and make the road system to scale. In other words, 1 meter in game is 1 meter on the map. This I feel will offer realism that is not available in other driving simulators I have played, where the scale is not realistic. Any tools i could use for this?? For the purposes of test, we could really use any map... also the map needs gravity and the possibility for weather changes, fog etc.

Next I need to create some kind of menu so the player can choose a car from a list, and then select the traffic level on the roads, and weather and time of day etc. Really we can just have it choosing a car for now....

The car needs to be specific to the selection, and must change if the user chooses a different car.