Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Making a Racing Game. Where to start?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi there,

Well im a college student currently working on a project that involves 2 programmes - DarkBasic Pro and Blender.

However we have a choice to make our games and we are looking into a racing game. With that in mind... I have no idea where to start.

Importing models, making models move, physics, A.I., lighting etc etc.

So im here for help, to what ive heard is "the best forum for darkbasic pro help".

Cheers in advanced to those who help me along.

Andy J Mc

- New to this game. Need to make one though! -
Gingerkid Jack
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Apr 2010 18:18
Why don't you start with simpler programs and work your way towards creating a game like this. I dived in at the deep end copying RPG snippets and didn't learn a thing. I had to re-learn everything and now I am ready to start making my 3D games.

Try making 2D games such as breakout or pong then create a 3D version working with arrays and variables and build up your core knowlage.

Also check out TDKs tutorials they are very good for begginers.

Jack,

Gingerkid Jack - Aspiring Game Designer\3d Modeler
Sixty Squares
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Apr 2010 04:24
If you have no experience at all, you might want to start with something simple like Gingerkid Jack suggested.