Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / "Doesn't equal" with strings? (or another problem?)

Author
Message
tgm4l
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2007
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2010 13:16


The output is simply "finished"

My clipboard is "C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\TopHatEngine\ENGINE\Utilities\Image Converter\Images;C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\chessrender.bmp;C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\glockUV.bmp;C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\gloveuv.bmp;C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\skintex.bmp;C:\Users\Matthew\Documents\texture_1.bmp"

(Wrote a program in VB.net that turns a list of selected files into clipboard data, where each item is separated by ";". The first item is the output folder)

What am I doing wrong?
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2010 17:03
Your problem is because you used <> for the check. Use only the > and it will run just fine.

Indicium
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2010 17:57
@Ashingda
<> means not equal
> means greater than

So unless i'm missing something here, that will only make it worse...

Rawwrr. Sig Fail.
Newcastle is awesome
Ashingda 27
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th May 2010 19:26
@Mad Nightmare
Actually both would be doing the same thing as it is checking if it's anything other than "nothing".

@tgm4l
At first I had some trouble getting it to work, but now your code just works as it is. Maybe try running the given example and see if it changes anything, it did for me.


spooky
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th May 2010 00:31
I agree. I copied string to clipboard and program ran just fine displaying each token.

Problem is probably more to do with vb proggy. Maybe not writing to clipboard properly. What do you get when you paste what you think is in your clipboard into notepad? What do you see in dbpro if your program simply writes out ClipboardData$

Boo!
tgm4l
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2007
Location:
Posted: 7th May 2010 04:28
I changed the code to



and now it works as intended. Thankd for the help everyone =).

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-28 18:29:02
Your offset time is: 2024-09-28 18:29:02