Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK .NET / Really simple Sprite question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So I'm a total newb at DarkGDK, but it came highly recommended so I'm giving it a shot.

What I'm trying to do is real simple I think. I want to create a Sprite from an image file. So I have this line of code:

But all i get is a NullReferenceException, which seems like it's saying it can't find the file? I know the file is there, this code works using the System.Drawing classes:

Any idea what I'm doing wrong here?

Geoschmo
David Gervais
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th May 2010 15:29 Edited at: 30th May 2010 15:30

I suspect you need to load the image first, then make a sprite from it.. and I suspect the 'new' part of the (0,0,new...) is a sprite number so try (0,0,1...)

Someone correct me if I guessed wrong.. I don't program in C#

Cheers!

Geoschmo
Years of Service
User Offline
So part of David's suggestion was key apparently:

DarkGDK.Engine.InitializeGDK();

I wasn't doing that at all. Now that I initialize the Engine, I no longer get the NullReferenceException. Apparently that wasn't telling me it couldn't find the file after all. However, it's doing something I didn't expect. Instead of pasting the image into my form, it's opening a new form window and pasting the image in there.