Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / 2D Collision With Transparencies

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Alright, so I just started coding again and I want to make a simplistic 2D platformer game, but having never done much with 2D I can't seem to get any decent form of collision going. I've searched around a bit and looked through some code, but I can't seem to find the answer I am looking for.

So right now I have 3 images on the screen, for the character, 'level', and background. To make it easier to deal with, I made the level image the same size as the screen and just left the un-used part transparent. This shows up fine when it is ran, but the character sprite will always detect collision with the level sprite because of that transparency.

Now I'm sure this has been brought up before and solved without too much trouble, but I couldn't find anything that worked for me. I should also mention that I have eXtends, in case that has some command that I somehow missed that would help me here. I looked through all of the documentation and what not for it and couldn't find an answer there either.

Thank you in advance.
Inflictive
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st May 2010 06:23
Hmm... what kind of image is the "level"? If it is BMP, and you are using black as transparent, you may have issues. On the other hand, if it is PNG, and you are using the built-in transparency, you may have some issues too. Whatever it is you are using, I would recommend trying the opposite.

*´¨;
¸.•´¸.•*´¨; ¸.•*¨;
(¸.•´ (¸.Eviljackson1
Muriako
Years of Service
User Offline
I've tried both. I first preferred the PNG route, but once that didn't work I tried BMPs.