Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Help With Simple Program

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm fairly new to the Dark GDK and C++ in general. I'm trying to write this simple program that detects a mouseclick over a sprite, then plays a sprite animation and finally displays a random sprite. It a coin toss game in short. However I currently have 3 issues:
1) I cannot get the mouseclick to do anything, but my program moves forward with a key press, I believe this is due to the if statement in my game loop.
2)The Sprite animation will not play, this has to be something Im overseeing.
3)The random integer call in my cointoss function does not seem to really return a random number, it always returns 1!

The other thing I'd like to do is loop this so that you can continue to click on the coin and keep "flipping" it till you hit esc.

Thanks to anyone who takes the time to look this over for me, shouldn't take to long as I'm sure this is an elementary level program.

JTK
Years of Service
User Offline
1) mouseX/mouseY are not being updated. Place these calls before the call to overSprite()

2) I'll have to get back with you on this one; I don't deal with animated sprites myself, so I can't answer it at this momemnt.

3) I would change the call to dbRND() and test for odd/even and use that:

Hope this helps you,

JTK
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Jun 2010 17:41 Edited at: 11th Jun 2010 17:50
Question (3) random numbers: