Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Random Number Generator that doesn't repeat the numbers.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new at this. This program basically is just a program that changes the color of the screen. Right now the program runs well but when the numbers repeat from the random number generator my screen has a delay of an extra half a second.

I have been trying to figure out how to set a variable in order to capture the random number and then put it into and if () else () statement. There are only four possible outcomes 0 - 3 in the RNG.

If was thinking once I was able to get the variable set to captured the if() else() statement would look like this.

any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Carlos
Kaichiro
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2010 01:51 Edited at: 15th Jun 2010 01:53
Look up the command dbRandomize() in the documentation. Use the system clock to seed so you'll always have a different seed since the time is never the same twice.

including ctime will give you access to the time() function that will return the time from the system clock. Use that to seed and it should fix your problem.

Something like this (Not tested, shouldn't compile without more headers and whatnot...)

Cuddle Bunniezzz 12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jun 2010 02:03
Well, I made this little command line program that will get the nubmers 0-3 for you in an order that is random and if a number has already been picked, the program will try again to find another number.

http://www.darkgdk.us/ <- You can now submit pages, upload images, yet were lacking content. We need your help!
JTK
Years of Service
User Offline