Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Replacing text in a .txt file with other text?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2010 03:30
I am not very good at programming (planning to get good at it when I can wrap my head around it better) however I do wish to use small bits for helping me do work. Is there any way to open a .txt file, find a string of text anywhere in it, and replace it with another string of text?

LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2010 06:29 Edited at: 22nd Jun 2010 06:57
Okay, this is something that I literally threw together in a hurry. It is not real pretty, but should demonstrate one way you can accomplish this.

In this example, I suggest searching for the word "indeed" (without the quotes) and replacing it with "nevertheless" (without the quotes). The text will print the old version and new version. If for whatever reason, it does not find the search string, it will tell you.

I have attached the text file to be used with this.

Hope this helps you,

LB

EDIT: It is worth mentioning that this code converts the text file to separate strings and subsequent searches can be done by simply looking at the string array. (i.e. Keep an original copy of the text file if you want to run it again.)

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Shadowtroid
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2010 13:32
Wow, thank you. I have absolutely no idea how that works.

Well, I guess I'll be blankly staring at this for a while now.

Thanks again, LBFN.

LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2010 15:40