Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Start small with big in mind or small with small in mind???

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi everyone,

When I get home from work tonight I'm going to install my DB stuff and go through the tutorials. Since I have a game planned out already, and once I'm done with the tutorials, would you recommend that I do just small games to get a feel for how to do it OR should I build the pieces of my main game and learn as I do that? I have some C++ background though not extensive. Anyone's thoughts are welcome. Thanks.

Gadget
luskos
Years of Service
User Offline
I would suggest you to start with small game at first until you wrap your head arround the language.Tetris, pong, clone attack.My first game was TicTacToe.It was extremely simple, but it was buggy.I lost the source, but if i start rewriting it now it`ll work like miricle without any doubt.

This is TDK`s tutorial thread in DBC corner, you probably would miss it.Go trought all this and you can begin with your game.

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=99497&b=10

You can allways ask here for help.The answer won`t be late.

Coding is My Kung Fu!
And My Kung Fu is better than Yours!
Sergeant Mike
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jun 2010 21:44