Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / How is my coding?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello Everyone,

I have been slaving away for a few days to try and make a basic tic tac toe game to learn with. So far I am enjoying what I am doing and know that my code is noobish because well, I'm a noob. I would like somone to take a look at my code and let me know if there are any improvements that can be made to. Thanks.

Gadget

P.S. I hope I did the code insert correctly.

luskos
Years of Service
User Offline
There is no victory condition?How about that?
I challenge you to rewrite it without gosubs.
Are your images power of 2?I know that in game like this probably is irrelevant if they are or not but is good to make it a habbit to use proper images, because computers make calculations faster with images power of 2.

Coding is My Kung Fu!
And My Kung Fu is better than Yours!
Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 26th Jun 2010 19:19
What's strange to me is those semicolons should be colons... but apparently they do work in IF/THEN statements. I think you've unwittingly found a bug.

Gadget
Years of Service
User Offline
What do you mean using an image with the power of 2? And how would suggest doing it without using gosubs and not having just a long page of code? I just started working on victory conditions so that will be next.
Dark Dragon
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jun 2010 00:06
I havent run your code, but it does look neat, if thats what you meant by "How is my coding?". Just, you didnt indent your gosubs, but yeah, its really neat.

Derekioh
Years of Service
User Offline