Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Saving Arrays using Matrix1Util

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Jun 2010 22:47 Edited at: 27th Jun 2010 23:33
I'm trying to save an Array using Matrix1Util dll's. I'm not even sure I'm doing this right as I couldn't find a lot of data on the use of SAVE ARRAY TO DATAFILE. I'm relatively new to working with arrays as all my previous DBP stuff has been incredibly simple but now I'd like to work with files and thought this would be a god start.

Anyway, on to the problem. I have my code laid out as below.
Note: I'm aware SAVE ARRAY doesn't allow me to save the data as I want it, so I'm trying SAVE ARRAY TO DATAFILE.

Now once I launch my program it simply crashes out (a Windows style, want to report error one). I've tried adding some debug stuff in there such as;

Still just crashes without doing anything. So, where am I going wrong? Is simply not possible to write the type of data I'm trying to or am I using the command wrong?

On a side note is possible to do something like this

and then load that file in a way to get my data like so ready for use?

GIDustin
Years of Service
User Offline
Ran your code and the first time it crashed. It was looking for a "data" folder that I didnt have. So I made a "data" folder and then it ran just fine.

Not sure what to tell you there...

As for your second question, you can do whatever you want really, but loading a CSV file is going to take a few more commands than using the Matrix save array method.

IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Jun 2010 15:12
You should use the function version of the OPEN DATAFILE TO XXXX commands so that you can test more easily when the command fails: