Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Understanding the Editor and Compiler.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Jul 2010 01:16
Hello all. I am not a novice to programming, but neither am I an expert! However, I am new to Dark BASIC Pro.

I have a number of questions related to how the DBPro IDE and System works, and would like to know where I can find more infomration about this.

For example: 'Included' Files.

I notice that a DBPRO 'Program' can Include a number of (Project) Files (.dba's). I also note that the Project File (.dbproj) can be edited with a Text Editor, so you can make changed manually as well.

What I am not clear about is 'how' DBPro handles the processing of 'Included' Files.

How does it Compile them? Instructions are normally processed sequentially (line by line) unless there are any 'Jumps' (GOTO/GOSUB/Functions/etc), so how does DBPro handle the Inclusion of other .dba Files?

I presume the 'Main File' is always loaded first. Does DBPro just then 'Append' any Included Files and if so, how does it decide which order to append them? If it does not append them, what does it do?

For example, if I were to create a Main File (MAIN.dba) with the Statement:

Print "Hello World"

and then add another File (INCLUDE.dba) with the Statement:

Print "Goodbye World"

I presume you will get 'Hello World' followed by 'Goodbye World'.

Now, if I wanted to keep that the same, but have DBPro reverse the order it was printed, how would I do that: Put a Label in each File and jump to the label to change the order? i.e.

MAIN.dba
--------
GOTO GoodbyeWorld
HelloWorld:
PRINT "Hello World"

INCLUDE.dba
-----------
GoodbyeWorld:
PRINT "Goodbye World"
GOTO Helloworld