Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Flashing screen in XP

Author
Message
Naf
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2002 16:27
if i run simple programs like
do
print "hello"
loop
then my screen is fine... but when i tried to put some sprites on the screen it placed them right but then my screen started to flash from what i thought it should be to white and then back again really really fast... it hurts my eyes!!!!!
i have patched to 1.13 but it still happens
any help??
Bogboy2000
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 14th Nov 2002 16:32
It might be that your screen and graphics card refresh rates are out of sync so that the sreen has no comand so just shows a white screen

Naf
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 14:44
roger... u were sitting rite next 2 me when i asked that question... wot is the point
u r wrong n e way it did it on all programs i wrote no matter how simple then i
patched to version 1.13 and it stopped on my v. simple programs but still happened
when i put sprites on the screen
anyone else got n e ideas??
Delta
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 15:44
I dont know if its teh same thing but I had a simmalar problem where the screen would flash back and white, I found the problem could be fixed by using a CLS command at the beginning of a program or after the display mode is changed,

try it out it may work and it may not,

rapscaLLion
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location: Canada
Posted: 15th Nov 2002 23:27
stick the CLS command at the top of the program.

Anyway, I thought this was fixed in patch 2! Do you have patch 2?

Alex Wanuch
aka rapscaLLion
Kousen Dev Progress >> Currently Working On Editors
Naf
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2002
Location:
Posted: 17th Nov 2002 00:54
i did get patch 2
bog boy helped a bit... i can now get it to not flash for a while after the last thing it puts on the screen but it still does it after a while

if it works... DONT FIX IT!!!
just tweak it a bit around the edges till it dont work... THEN fix it!!!
-my BASIC programming motto
sgalland
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Nov 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 20th Nov 2002 05:44
CLS 0 command solved that problem for me in v1.11
TDK
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posted: 22nd Nov 2002 03:11
DB V1 on my XP system needs a Sync after the CLS 0 at the start of the program.

If it starts flashing after a while, try two Syncs instead of one in your program. This has an impact on the speed of your program, so don't put double syncs everywhere.

Experiment to find where they are needed.

TDK_Man

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-01 05:08:58
Your offset time is: 2024-03-01 05:08:58