Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Digital painting help?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jul 2010 21:20
Hello there, I know I will probably not get too many posts here, well well.

Here is the deal, I am a 3d artist, however i am worthless at painting textures or painting in general, therefore i could use some help. up to now i have used dodge and burn (i use photoshop) to create highlights/shadows, however this usually ends up in a blurry/smudgy picture and therefore i would like to learn other techniques, i have googled around a lot and usually i find possibly a video "tutorial" in where they paint but doesnt really tell what brushes/brush setting they use, why they are doing what they doing there, What should i think about? What should i think about when putting together a basic sketch in photoshop? What poses are great to begin with?

What i am eager to learn is basicly to paint a sketch and then color it out, and what poses for human is great?

ugh i guess what i am saying is that i made this thread in hopes of help, I have googled and googled and googled but i dont get any more clever about this? And therefore i was asking you guys for some help.. I know this isnt an easy matter and if i cannot get some help with painting 2d iam gonna rip my hair of XD

ugh i can see now that this message got very messy >.> I use photoshop CS3 and a wacom tablet (Intous 4 small) and i am aware that you will not become king over a day, however tips and tricks and possibly just pictures showing workflow with explanations helps a lot, and i also believe that I am not the only one who will benefit from stuff like this, So if anyone here on TGC is willing to help a looser like me, then please do =)