Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / problem with tic, tac, toe. jerry lee ford jr tutorial

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hello everybody
I just got DBP and was making my way through "DarkBasic Programming for the absolute beginner by Jerry Lee Ford, Jr"
Perhaps some of you know it?

getting to the point...
Tic,Tac,Toe Project : Chapter 6
did the tutorial, begin program and it says "welcome to....press any key to continue" *press a key* "Thanks for playing press any key to quit" *press key* *close*

got his file off the companion site and loaded it up, it works as he described.

For the past 2 hours ive gone over these projects side by side, fixed a few things but still, same problem.

Sooooo I began to copy and paste his work over mine, 50 lines at a time and then run. Hopefully that way i could find the general area thats causing problems. Well now its an exact copy of his work, the entire thing has been pasted into my project. The problem remains

Just wondering if anybody else has had a similar problem, ive checked all the settings too, its an exact copy, just when you load my file up it says LETSPLAYOKBYE...anyone?
Zorkonian12
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Aug 2010 04:07
Heyyyyyy... I'm learning from that same book! Cool!

And I was just about to start reading that tutorial. Thanks for the heads up!

I think it might be something to do with how old the book is and the version of DBPro you have. Some of the commands might have changed or else you have some sort of typo. Which seems unlikely since you used copy and paste.

Crabbages
Years of Service
User Offline