Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Getting a random number

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Aug 2010 07:57
Hi guys,
Sorry if this is a newbie question (which it probably is, since I'm new to both C++ and the GDK!), but I'm making my own version of a pokemon game.
I wanted to make it so each time you clicked "run" in battle, and random number would be retrieved, and then depending on the number, you would either succeed or not.
However, I was looking at a few other threads and following their advice, and the only thing they suggested, according to them, would make it so each time the program is run it would determine a new random number.
So I'm asking how would you make it so each time you click "run" a different number is rolled each time, not some pre-deteremined number that it makes it so you succeed every time or fail every time during that play session.

I'm currently putting this in with my declarations and stuff "dbRandomize(dbTimer);", and then later setting a variable equal to "dbRND".
What should I do?

P.S. Sorry for the lengthy post...

ß ñéøπ $H£ÏLd îS †Hë Måñ ß

Perhaps, I theoretically might possibly have potential to hypothetically maybe have the chance to attempt something.
Bran flakes91093
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Aug 2010 18:21
dbRND(int Top) is essentially ((rand() % Top) + 1), and dbRandomize is equivalent to srand, in case you want to use the GDK functions.

“C++ : Where friends have access to your private members.”
-Gavin Russell Baker
Neon Sheild
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Aug 2010 21:34
interesting...I think I see what you're saying