Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Question / Advise

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello!,

I've purchased DBPRO to create some mini-games I've been wanting to make for a while now. (I will want to demo these at some point to a 3rd party.) But I'm wondering if it's overkill for what I'm trying to do. Some advice / input would be appreciated.

A bit about me. I've been a Database programmer for 20 years, but the last time I wrote a game was when VB6 was current. (2002/2003) A lot has changed since then, and I find the methods I used to code in VB6 back in the day are not supported anymore in the newer Visual Studio version.

Anyhow, the basic mini-game I'd like to create will be similar to those "Match 3" type games that are popular now. You have game boards of various sizes/shapes with different colored objects (gems/shapes, etc...) scattered on the boards. The user clicks X or Y adjoining shapes of the same type, they disappear, more shapes are added, and the score goes up. Etc...

I could code something like this in MS Access in a few hours, but it obviously would not look pretty. IS DBPRo my best option for someone new to the more recent programming technologies? Is there something easier I should try first?

Oh, I also need to be able to read and write data from the game to a file/DB. The players abilities will increase over time and affect board layouts, special abilities, etc...

Thanks for any advice,

Fam
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Sep 2010 05:35
Quote: "But I'm wondering if it's overkill for what I'm trying to do."

I definitely do not think it is overkill at all. DBPro could be used to make a match-3 game, though it will take you more than a few hours to create it.