Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Strange error, dbSpriteHit or dodgy c++ skills. Help needed

Author
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Sep 2010 15:47
Hi,

I've been a reader of this forum for a long time but never bothered to create a forum profile, I was happy stalking you guys.
Until now, when I have a problem I need help with.

The thing is, a year ago or so I started coding a "chipdisk". It's a remnant from the old demoscene in 80's/90's. It's a basically a music player that is supposed to play some .mod files from my old "group" and look ok while it plays, maybe with some info and so on.

I'm using VS Express 2008 with Dark GDK.

Enough background, the problem is it's stopped working from where I left it a year ago. At first it wouldn't compile at all but I sorted that out, it was the old atls.lib stuff messing about an' that.

It compiled and looked like it should, but! I can't click any of the buttons in the player, it's like the dbSpriteHit just doesn't register, or my variables are being reset immediately. I just can't see any problems in the code.

It's in beginner stages so it's not very long yet, I'll just post the entire code here shall I?

If you need the whole project (just a few pics for now) I'll put code and pics in a rar and attach it.

Thanks for any comments and/or help!

My hovercraft is full of eels
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
Use dbSpriteCollision instead of dbSpriteHit. There is a big difference in how they work. dbSpriteCollision returns a hit continuously as long as the two sprites overlap. dbSpriteHit returns a hit ONCE and then not again until the two sprites move away from each other and then overlap again.