Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Cloggy's D3D Plugin

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Oct 2010 05:04 Edited at: 3rd Oct 2010 01:40
Hi everyone, I have recently just started using DGDK, and trying to learn some C++ as well. Recently, I have been trying to convert my DBP project over to DGDK, and have two issues with Cloggy's D3D.

The first:
Something is wrong with my code as to why the text will not display when put into a case, yet, when put into the main loop directly, and having no game() function, it seems to work fine, obviously I am new to this, but could someone explain why this is occurring? thanks, here's the code:

You probably will notice it is pretty much the dark invaders tutorial, but, for some reason, I just can't get cloggy's to work in this code or in a case.

The second:
The text which DOES display is VERY VERY blocky, unlike that from the DBP version I had before. Is there a found reason for this? Thanks!!!!

www.myspace.com/norseblod
Abraxas77
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Oct 2010 12:28 Edited at: 2nd Oct 2010 12:32
I can't answer anything related to cloggy's d3d or why the text looks blocky, but I can give a stab at the first issue.

I ran a test where I copied your code into a new GDK project, removed all the d3d functions, and (in the gameTitle state) used dbText to write the tile to the screen:

This works as expected. I assumed g_eGameMode is a global integer (which is something you should probably avoid; it's just not very good style) and that eGameSetup & eGameTitle are global constant integers. If that is so, and you defined g_eGameMode before the main game loop, I don't see that there is anything wrong with your code.

A few suggestions: