Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / "Object does not exist" error help..

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Oct 2010 19:11 Edited at: 10th Oct 2010 21:53
Hi all,

I am extremely new to DBPro and I've been getting this error whenever I try to run my code "Runtime Error 7008 - Object does not exist at line 66. Object Number Not Found: 50."

I have included my code and line 66 is referring to this line:
If object collision(player,50)>0

I cant quite see what I'm doing wrong here.. Can someone please point out what I'm doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated

this is my code so far, written by looking at some of the work posted here
IanM
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Oct 2010 21:54
Where in your code do you create object 50? If it doesn't exist, then you can't check for collision against it.

Utility plug-ins (26-JUL-2010)
I'm applying terms of use that require you to wear a red nose and honk a horn whenever you use the Internet
gormee
Years of Service
User Offline
ahh.. silly me i left it out feel so silly

I am also trying to write some code to create random platforms that my player has to jump to..

Anyone know the best implementation for this? The player has to be able to reach the platform so there has to be a limit of sorts on the spawning points of the platforms.

would something like this work?

Should I also create an array to hold all the random platforms? or should I just let DB continuously generate them without worrying?

Thanks in advance!
WRIOR
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Oct 2010 17:38
I Wouldn't Continuously generate them as you would run out of memory quite quick.Try Something Like: