Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / saving and loading

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm new to this and I want to be able to save and load. Some example code would be good thanks.

Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2010 11:43
the whole idea is to open a file and write the information you need so that when you read them, you can figure out where you was before the save, so simply, to save, open a file and save some values there, these are up to you, but usually you would save global variables, classes info, etc, and on loading, just read the saved file and assign each value you read to its global variable or create class instances or whatever you want to do

Your signature has been erased by a mod - Please reduce it to 600x120 maximum size
robster
Years of Service
User Offline
ok, but my problems comes when i don't know how to code it to save/load. thanks

Hassan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2010 14:12
very simple: (this is C-style file read/write, i don't like the std way, but if you do so, it is very easy to switch if you want)

fprintf reference: http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstdio/fprintf/

Your signature has been erased by a mod - Please reduce it to 600x120 maximum size
robster
Years of Service
User Offline
thanks for that il give it a go

robster
Years of Service
User Offline
ok im not really sure how to but i looked at your link and tryed not to come back and ask you again, but im not sure how to read the txt file and do something like if MissionID = 1 then load mission1.

I tried fscanf and fread but im kind of shooting in the dark here. thanks

Matty H
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2010 20:36 Edited at: 31st Dec 2010 20:36