Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / newbie here having problems with getting a simple program to rum

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 10:18
remstart
-------------------------------
beginners guide to game programming with darkbasic
copyright (C)2002 Jonathan S. Harbour and Joshua R. Smith
chapter 5 - looping command 4
-------------------------------
remend

rem This program bounces your name around the screen
rem This program is written with the use of a DO....LOOP loop
rem This program will stop after the 10 time of bouncing

print "Jonathan Leigh Miller:"
input name$

count = 1
do
cls
text rnd(500),rnd(350),name$
sleep 500
count = count + 1
if count > 10 then exit
loop

ok the program prints the name on the screen and it wont bounce around like it is supposed to. This program is from the 'BEGINNERS GUIDE TO DARKBASIC GAME PROGRAMMING, from chapter 5 I've typed in the code exactly the way it appears in the book and even checked it over a few times but still cant get it to make the text bounce around the screen. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Kezzla
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 10:59
your problem is in your input code
the format for inputting data is

input "text relating to input",data$

so to fix your code so it works change

input name$
to
input "enter your name",name$

now it will work

Sometimes I like to use words out of contents
Agent
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Jan 2011 15:26
The syntax you are using is correct. There is nothing wrong with using the input command the way you have.