Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Programming a basic jump in a 2D game without using a physics engine.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Title says it all. I am very new to DarkGDK, please give me a break.

Saying that my skill with the DarkGDK library is mediocre is generous.
TheeLord
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 03:37 Edited at: 30th Jan 2011 03:45
I dont know anything about the actual 2D side of DarkGDK.. But jumping is a pretty simple thing. The object is moving fastest when it leaves the ground and will get pulled down by gravity at a constant increasing speed. so something like this..

gravity = -1;
if (dbKeyState(57) == 1) jump_vector = 20;
jump_vector = jump_vector + gravity;
object_position_y = object_position_y + jump_vector;

dbKeyState(57) == 1 would be pressing the space bar.
Make sure you check that the player is touching the ground before letting the jump_vector increase, and also check where the ground is when the player is falling so you dont go through the ground...

Hope this helps!
99xnwreg
Years of Service
User Offline
thanks but I don't know what you did with that last line. Where are you defining the sprite ID of the object that you want to jump? What is object_position_y?

TheeLord
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 18:50
object_position_y would be the verticle position of the sprite. I imagine you are doing a side scrolling type game right?
99xnwreg
Years of Service
User Offline
I sent you an email explaining to you all my troubles with this because I am a newbie, it takes time for my posts to get approved.

99xnwreg
Years of Service
User Offline