Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Classic Pong

Author
Years of Service
User Offline

This Was my first attempt at making pong, but with little success. I would like to know if there was a way to have the ball bounce off at a random angle (within certain perameters) to make the game more interesting. I have had several people comment upon my use of SpeedY=SpeedY*-1 but as of yet i have not found a faster way of changing the direction of the ball (without using endless 'If' statements). The second version (which i am still working on) is a lot more aesthetically pleasing however the collisions are likely to stay the same until i get help.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is my first attempt at completing a code.
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Jan 2011 01:53 Edited at: 30th Jan 2011 01:54
First off, it is blazing fast and unplayable as is on my computer. Suggest you manually use SYNC at 60.

To help speed up your game, calculate variables prior to your main loop. It takes time for the computer to calculate the screen height and width. Assign them to a variable prior to the main loop and then access the variables within the main loop.

It is recommended that you indent your code. When in an if - endif, a function, for - next loops, a do - loop, etc., indent the code inbetween. This will help with you forgetting to close out the loop and improve readability. Many that would otherwise help a newbie will be turned off if your code is not indented.

DBP allows you to grab images within the code. Why not draw the ball and paddles, grab the images and then use sprites? It would be faster and easier. If you need help with this, just post.