Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / New to DGDK (and some parts of C++), having trouble with variables

Author
User Banned
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 05:49
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to C++ (just started seriously looking into it a couple of months ago), and I thought that using DGDK would be a good way to get even more serious with it. I seem to be having trouble with variables. Variables! Something as simple as that.

Here's my code...

Here's the part I'm having trouble with:

What I want to do is make it so that if the user right-clicks anywhere in the program, a "menu" appears at the old mouse positions, but I can only achieve this if the user holds the mouse button down. I thought that by adding the variable "bActive" would fix this, but I encountered an error that said "bActive is not declared in this scope", and I found out the only way I could use it was if I included it in the dbMouseClick==2 code block, but that totally defeats the purpose of even creating it and it doesn't even work!

I have no idea how to make variables global. I tried what's outlined in this page but it didn't work. What am I doing wrong? What do I need to do?

Thanks for any and all help,
-CoffeeCoder

dark coder
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Feb 2011 06:29
If you declare a variable within a scope { }, then it will only exist within it, so you'll probably want to put the declaration for 'bActive' in either the global scope, or the first non-global scope, which is 'void DarkGDK ( void ){ -> here <- }'. Can you explain why the tutorial page's code didn't work? And make sure you weren't declaring the variable multiple times, i.e. 'int xyz;' and 'int xyz;' in a different scope, because they will be treated as different variables.