Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Suggetions For Game In Progress

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Feb 2011 08:17
Hi Everyone...

Not sure where this belongs, but since I'm a newbie still I hope this section will work.

The project I'm working on is called Blast 'Em. The idea of the game is actually a mix between AstroPop (PopCap Games) and Breakout. The object is to give the player a block of a random color (limited to 5 colors at present) and have them shoot it onto the playfield. On the playfield is supposed to be a few blocks; randomly colored and placed. The concept is to match at least three blocks of the same color to remove them. The blocks, however, have a timed drop. And should they reach the paddle then the game is over.

This project has been an idea of mine for a few years now. It started out as a concept for Atari consoles and computers. But...I was needing a project for the current college course I am taking, Writing for Multimedia. This project came to mind and I decided to use it. However, I wasn't expecting to have a prototype working as part of the assignment.