Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Help, I Need It

Author
Message
noggyspot
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 13th Feb 2011 07:05
Hi, I\\\'m working on a Spelling Bee program where it reads out audio of a word, then a user can spell it, how the heck would I get started with this

Go 2 noggyspot.com!
Kezzla
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2008
Location: Where beer does flow and men chunder
Posted: 13th Feb 2011 14:11
Hi, noggy spot

here is an extremely basic skeleton for one way of tackling this problem.



i'm sure there are much better ways of going about creating this program, eg. reading the words from a file, and getting numbered waves from a folder.
I'm not so good with reading and writing to file at the moment.
maybe something to look into.
any way, more experienced programmers may be able to provide a better idea of what to do.
I hope this has been helpful
kezzla

Sometimes I like to use words out of contents
Grog Grueslayer
Valued Member
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2005
Playing: Green Hell
Posted: 13th Feb 2011 17:06
What Kezzla wrote is pretty much the only way. You have to know in advance what word the .wav file is going to say without going into complicated voice recognition. An easier way is to name the filenames what each word is and extract that word from the filename. So the only array you need is a directory listing of the .wav files used in your program.

I recommend using the UPPER$() command to change the user input to all highercase letters. If you you're checking for "word" and the user types "Word", "wOrd", "WORD", or any other higher/lower case combination except exactly "word" the program won't recognize it as the same word.

kamac
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 13th Feb 2011 18:35 Edited at: 13th Feb 2011 18:44
And you gotta use that:



You forgot about endif

In progress of making Archery Simulator... Or maybe not simulator x]?

@There'll be a sig @

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-16 19:21:36
Your offset time is: 2024-11-16 19:21:36