Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / What tools should I get / use.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello I am new to DB obviously. I came from 6 years of
GameMaker and want to move on to something a little more
powerful.
TheGameCreators has many many tools. I downloaded the trial
or 3d World Studio and find it very very cool. I am also about
to tryout there 3d modeler and see how it is.

So I guess what I am trying to ask is if these tools are good?
What is the common meathod to world creation, model creation, ect.
BMacZero
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 17:00
I don't think many people at all actually use TGC's modeling software (is it 3d Canvas Pro?). Mostly we just like DarkBASIC, I think . See here for a list of things people use more frequently:
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=154983&b=3#m1811377

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 23:44 Edited at: 23rd Mar 2011 23:46
I use Mapscape by Evolved. It's FREE, written in DBP and works great. It'll also lightmap your world. Here's what I'm working on:

Here's a link to the relevant page on Evolved's site:
MAPSCAPE

You just need to make sure when you load a lightmapped level into DBP to use his lightmap shader on the object.

If you use it and get stuck give me a shout I love his editor and use it all the time for my 3D games (including the one in my signature which is free at the moment).

Attachments

Login to view attachments
revenant chaos
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Mar 2011 06:10
Quote: "What is the common meathod to world creation, model creation, ect."