Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / Cinematic hands question

Author
Message
Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 27th Jul 2011 16:52 Edited at: 27th Jul 2011 16:52
I've been reading through Ched's syntax list and I stumbled upon a few new commands.

GETCINEMATICHANDS=GunName GunFolder

My question is how does this command work exactly.Does it use HUD models or an entity gun with animations. Let's say I have the following structure : guns/Gencheff/Interactive/HUD.x

I want to use the interactive hands and I use the command like so : GETCINEMATICHANDS=Interactive Gencheff.Would this be a right way of using it?

I also have a question regarding the STARTCINEMATICHANDS=X Y command.

Is X a boolean value of 1 or 0 indicating whether the animation should be played , or is it a number for the animation which should be played.And if it's a number,how do I indicate which animation is 1,2,3,etc. if the cinematichands command uses HUD models.

Hope someone can help,this would benefit everyone as you'd get more weapons from me with bigger usage.

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 06:27
This sounds interesting, I'd like to know about this as well (sorry I can't help)

Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 14:15 Edited at: 28th Jul 2011 14:16
Hi Gencheff,

I can answer this now. when i released iss2.0 of the list I did not have an explanation of these commands, but now i do.

3.8.2.4 GETCINEMATICHANDS=GunName GunFolder

Description: This sets the player’s weapon by defining the gun name and the folder in which the gun exists. A placeholder entity must exist within the level for this command to work. The place holder entity must be dynamic and must not spawn at the start of the level.
Range: GunName = the name of the gun,
GunFolder = the file path to the gun from the generic guns folder.
Example: :state=1:getcinematichands=colt45 ww2\colt45

3.8.2.29 STARTCINEMATICHANDS=X Y
Description: This plays the play’s hand animation and loops it Y times.
Range: X = 1 – start cinematic hands.
       Y = >1 – number of times to loop cinematic hands.
Example: :state=1:startcinematichands=1 3

As i understand it X is boolean and not an animation number.

Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 14:59
Thank you for the explanation Ched.

I've got the hands to show up,however the animation don't loop.It just reacts as a normal weapon.

Should I remove all flags in the weapon's gunspec (move,run,attack,etc).Maybe that will trick the engine into not overwriting the cinematic hands animations?

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 15:29
Gencheff, could you post (or mail me) your script. The gunspec shouldn't be a problem as you can use the commands with weapons as well as hands, but the problem may exist with the implementation of the commands.

Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 15:53 Edited at: 28th Jul 2011 15:55
Ched,the script is as simple as it gets.



I've tried adding a closing state=2 after the startcinematichands commands,no luck there.
What I'm trying to do is very simple.I've made some hand animation for opening doors,pressing buttons,etc. I wish to force-start those animations when the player is near the appropriate object.

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 16:49
You will need to change the state after starting the animation with "startcinematichands=", but I'm not sure why your implementation doesn't work. It could be the gunspec settings, how you tried setting the hands up as an 'equipment' rather than a gun?

I am guessing at this point as I've not used cinematic hands. I believe Cyborg ART has been working with these commands though, you may have more luck if you contact him.

Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 17:03 Edited at: 28th Jul 2011 17:09
EDIT- I've found a way of working this out.Thank you Ched.

I don't need the play command after all.

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 17:08
Quote: "a closing state doesn't work"

I should have been more clear: adding state=2 will be needed for it to work, but there is obviously something else wrong somewhere.

By "equipment" I mean use "equipment = 1" within the gunspec file. this alters the way the 'weapon' is handled by FPSC.

Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 17:09
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding,I've cleared the issue.

Thank you.

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 17:11
What did you do? Your answer may help others

Gencheff
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Jun 2010
Location: UK by way of USSR
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 18:18
Nothing,I don't really need a play sequence command,that's all.

If it could help others,what I'm doing is assigning random melee animations to the weapon and then a script to a certain dynamic entity , which I wish the player to interact wth.

After the melee key is pressed and the player is facing the entity,he freezes for a second , the animation plays and the entity responds.

If there was something connected to the playcinematichands command,I would definitely share it with others,however that's not the case.

Samotnijat vylk nasred gorata.
-3D,2D Artist,Animator,Web developer and Programmer.
2Beastmode4u
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2011
Location: Loading...
Posted: 7th Aug 2011 22:12
When I use this command, it doesn't give me any ammo with the gun. Is there a way to fix that?


Cheers.

God help me, Please.
defiler
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 8th Aug 2011 00:50
Is this Vanilla FPSC or PB we talking about?

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 8th Aug 2011 02:11
defiler
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 9th Aug 2011 23:12 Edited at: 9th Aug 2011 23:12
Hmm, i never knew we had such commands added

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
Jesper
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2007
Location: Hämeenlinna
Posted: 10th Aug 2011 16:55
What animation it plays? Fire animation or idle or what? Or if it is some other animation, what should be it's name in gunspec?

http://erkinpelit.webs.com
Some Company of Heroes maps.. and something else too.
EGG HEAD OF DOOM
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 11th Aug 2011 00:13
You can call any animation you want i believe, you just have to use the correct frame range

Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 11th Aug 2011 08:55 Edited at: 11th Aug 2011 09:58
hi all,
To clarify, these commands are not designed to be used with weapons and as such, they have certain limitations. The getcinematichands commands will place a weapon in the hands of the player, but as observed, the weapon will have no ammo. The startcinematichands command will play all the animation frames associated with the weapon.
The commands are intended for hand interaction animations, such as waving, turning a door nob, drinking a beer bottle, etc. There is a youtube clip of these commands in action using the drinking beer animation.
[edit]: here is the clip:



EGG HEAD OF DOOM
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Sep 2008
Location: The Hacked Hospital Lobby
Posted: 11th Aug 2011 22:17
uzi idiot
Valued Member
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2009
Location: Who Knows?
Posted: 12th Aug 2011 01:24
Very interesting. I'd like to see more of this.


Mental Stability is over-rated!
defiler
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posted: 12th Aug 2011 03:10
If you wanted to use it with a gun, could you not have it so before the cinematic hands come up, that gun gets put away first?

Current Project: Lost Contact: Chapter 1
Ched80
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Sep 2010
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posted: 12th Aug 2011 11:36
You can put the gun away using the "hideplrweapon" command, so yes, you can hide a weapon before starting cinematic hands. You can also use "preventplrselectinggun=" to prevent the gun from being selected while cinematic hands are in operation.

These commands are in the Complete Syntax List, within the "Player" section.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 05:59:56
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 05:59:56