Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Change the App's Icon from the default AGK???

Author
Message
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 19th Aug 2011 22:45
How can I change the ICON in the upper left corner of the App??? No matter what I try, the AppGameKit icon is still there.
Is that icon mandatory for the AppGameKit Apps, or can I use my own?


Thanks

Airslide
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2004
Location: California
Posted: 20th Aug 2011 00:51
It was generally a pain to change the icon in DBP, and since I don't see any options they may not have made it a priority for version 1.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 20th Aug 2011 01:15 Edited at: 20th Aug 2011 02:44
I am happy to have the "Made with AGK" logo on my splash screen.
However, the icon is needed to brand the game, and I know I can pack it, but the app itself uses the AppGameKit icon for the title of the game.

All I want is to change the Icon in the top left of the app.
I would much rather have the ability to change that icon than the option of the AppGameKit splash screen logo.

I tried changing the setup file with a icon = "icon.ico" , but it never changed and all I got was the AppGameKit icon.

Is there a list anywhere of the settings we can use for the setup file?

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 24th Aug 2011 17:37 Edited at: 24th Aug 2011 17:40
Change this in tier 2

wcex.hIcon= LoadIcon(hInstance, MAKEINTRESOURCE(50));
wcex.hIconSm= LoadIcon(wcex.hInstance, MAKEINTRESOURCE(51));

also you need a resource file look at

http://www.functionx.com/win32/Lesson03.htm

Go through yourself at a wall.
Redostrike
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2003
Location: Belgium
Posted: 25th Aug 2011 23:10
Or you could just download XN resource editor (google it) open the exe in it and change all the icons that are there.

Only heroes live forever
MikeHart
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 26th Aug 2011 08:48
When you create the tier2 project to publish your app, i am sure you can change the icon there.
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 02:58
Perhaps a new setup.agc field:

icon=yourfile.png

The compiler would then do what it needs to do to ensure that image replaces the default icon for apps that use an icon (Windows).

As was previously mentioned, when you come to build your T1 BASIC app for selling, you are compiling the byte code with the native project so you can easily change the icon there. If it's a little tricky, we can write some guides to help with this.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 03:54
Quote: "Perhaps a new setup.agc field:

icon=yourfile.png

The compiler would then do what it needs to do to ensure that image replaces the default icon for apps that use an icon (Windows)."

That would make it really easy for even a beginner to do.
The wrapper I'm using changes it for the exe file, but the app itself still shows AppGameKit icon when it is running.
I would love AppGameKit even more if it did have the icon=x.png for the setup.

LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 04:49
Please add this as a feature request to the newly created issues board. There is a category for feature requests:

http://code.google.com/p/agk/issues/list

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 5th Sep 2011 05:56
I went to the link, but I did not see a feature request section on the issues board.
I'll post something anyway.

Thanks Lee

LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 6th Sep 2011 03:49
When you Add an issue, you will notice a combo drop down which allows you to select Type-Enhancement, which means a feature request rather than a bug found.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
MobileCreator
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2011
Location: Ottawa - Canada
Posted: 6th Sep 2011 05:44
Hey Lee,

there is no such combo with that option when entering the bug report. Maybe this is an permission that has to be enabled?

I've added mine using "Feature Request" on the title...

Thanks

----------
Paulo
http://www.mobilecreators.com
Bursar
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Sep 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Sep 2011 10:47
Add it as a bug in the bug reporting system
MikeHart
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Sep 2011 14:21
LOL. But Conjured Entertainment is right, there is no combo box atm.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 6th Sep 2011 14:37 Edited at: 6th Sep 2011 14:41
Quote: "Add it as a bug in the bug reporting system"

lol

http://code.google.com/p/agk/issues/list

I am putting the link as a link for those of you who are like me and too lazy to copy/paste it to the address bar.

LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 03:50
Hmm, it might only appear to me as the administrator Sorry for the confusion. I will categorise them as the issues come in, no worries.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-23 13:18:47
Your offset time is: 2024-02-23 13:18:47