Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Is there some way to group 3D objects together and rotate them as a single unit?

Author
Message
Scott Grizzard
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2003
Location: Tampa
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 03:52
Is there some way to group 3D objects together and rotate them as a single unit?

I am trying to make a 3D Tic-Tac-Toe program, and I want the entire board to rotate together as a group. Is there some way to group the objects and rotate them together as a cube? The only way I can think of to do it is to move the camera instead of the board, but I don't want to do this because there are other 3D object's I don't want to rotate. Any ideas?
Lonnie
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th May 2003
Location:
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 03:55
There is away with graphic Editing Programs (Like G-Max) But to do that in DarkBASIC, or DarkBASIC Pro Im clueless.

Good Luck!

Do Print "Hello World"
Wait 2003 loop
the_winch
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 04:10
Look at the limb commands, glue object to limb etc.

Scott Grizzard
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2003
Location: Tampa
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 04:18
do the objects have to be touching to be glued?
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 06:43 Edited at: 23rd Oct 2003 07:11
Nope. Once glued, you can reposition the limbs. Every object is limb 0 in itself. If you glued objects 3,4,5,6 to object number 2, you can rotate 2 and the others would rotate as if it were one big object. A good example of this would be my flag code. Lemme search for it quickly.


Oops, forgot to mention, this is DBC code.

I just tested it in DBP, and it works, sorta. You'll have to add set object flagNumber, 1,1,0 in the example. Cull setting. Also, I've noticed that the flag isn't updating it's movement in Pro. Might be DBP problems with the limb commands. I'm looking into it. Argh, can't figure why it doesn't update its motion.



Here is the flag.dba file I've created with documentation.



And here's an example using the functions in flag.dba. You'll have to make your own flag texture, as I have not included the media.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 16:10
There are "issues" with gluing limbs in DBP. It alters the position of the limb when you first glue it. I added a belt to the Alienware Alien, positioned it, glued, and it ended up on his head

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)
http://facepaint.me.uk/catalog/default.php
UnderLord
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 23rd Oct 2003 16:23
i always though using a
for t = 1 to 5
make object sphere t,100
position object t,100,50,100
next t

wouldent that do the same as grouping objects together....but that may not be what your looking for

http://www.freewebs.com/ingamers
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 24th Oct 2003 07:57
well it would position them in the same place, but they wouldn't move together.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-25 15:02:07
Your offset time is: 2024-11-25 15:02:07