Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / launch screen problem during app launches

Author
Message
Space Dream Studios
Competition Prize Winner 2014
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2011 18:10
Hi, I finished my first game with Tier 1 ready for uploading to the app store. But now I have a problem during app launch. I changed the default image on xcode, no problem. The default image comes up like excpected, but after it a white screen comes up always, before the app is completely up and running. This white screen stays there for some seconds before the app start screen shows up. I managed to change the color of this in between white screen by changing the color of the viewcontroler in xcode, but what can I do to eliminate this unwanted blank screen completely? Thanks in advance for some help!
bjadams
AGK Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Sep 2011 22:07
would love to hear for a solution for this, as it happens in tier2 too.
though it doesn't show up for too long, but it's there
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 04:10
This is likely the result of your app loading it's assets before the first Sync() is called. I would load an image into a sprite and size the sprite to fill the screen at the VERY BEGINNING of your app, and Sync() that so the end user has something nice to view while you are loading your files.

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
bjadams
AGK Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2011 09:25
we cannot use sync() in app:begin right?

so app::begin can contain variables but no imageloading
LeeBamber
TGC Lead Developer
24
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2000
Location: England
Posted: 11th Sep 2011 00:10
You can use Sync() anywhere If you want to render something and then have it shown on your device in the Begin function, try it and see what happens. Let me know if it goes horribly wrong!

I drink tea, and in my spare time I write software.
Space Dream Studios
Competition Prize Winner 2014
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2011 14:38
Thanks Lee! Sorry for the late reply, but Paul told me another nice solution too which fits perfectly. Just add a "AGKSplash.png" image.
This is the splashscreen the AppGameKit uses during getting ready to rumble No blank screens anymore during the startup process! LOVE AppGameKit!!!
bjadams
AGK Backer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2011 19:12
"AGKSplash.png" does this apply to ios tier2 too?
Space Dream Studios
Competition Prize Winner 2014
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Mar 2010
Location:
Posted: 15th Sep 2011 19:16
Try it! I guess it should work in the same way or ask Paul about it. Paul?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-02 20:39:10
Your offset time is: 2024-03-02 20:39:10