Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / basic array question

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2011 09:50
first post, so hello everyone

i have a pretty basic array question, might even be kinda dumb
say i have a string containing some data, like below:

stringsomething = "1,23,64,20,11"

and i would like to get that data out of the string as an array, something like below:

count=0
for each "array thingy" in stringsomething
inc count
actionHere(count) = "array thingy"
next

how would i do that? i guess what im asking is how to save an array as a single string, and "open" it again
im a newbie at db, but i have some experience with programming.

"hello world"
TheComet
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Nov 2011 14:56
You want to save and load arrays? There are commands for that:

save array
load array

TheComet

Latch
Years of Service
User Offline
@THB

Hello, welcome!

This will be a fairly detailed explanation, so bare with it if it's written for more of a novice. If you mean converting a string to an array, what you generally have to do is "parse" the array into chunks that you want to store in the array. Parse just means separate or break down.

So, in your example:

stringsomething = "1,23,64,20,11"

We'll assume that you want each number to go into it's own array index. The first thing to note is that a single string in DBC maximum length is 255 characters. Keep that in the back of your find.

So the first thing we need to do is determine how long the array should be. If you already know, then just dimenion the array to the proper size:

dim myarray(100) or whatever size